Bad News for Hartz = Good News for Pets

August 19, 2009 at 1:02 am 15 comments

Mad Cat

More bad press for the companies peddling pet poison!

Over the years, ConsumerAffairs.com, which specializes in collecting and investigating consumer complaints, has amassed enough complaints about Hartz, Sergeant’s, and Sentry flea and tick products to fill the Grand Canyon. And recently,  they put together a thoroughly researched and well written article that you should read, re-read, send to your friends, your vet, your pet groomer, your dog walker, your pet sitter, your Aunt Mary, and everyone else you know.

The piece describes the atrocities committed by Hartz et al, who make and sell products that they know are unsafe. It also discusses the failure of the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) to remove these products from shelves, despite receiving thousands upon thousands of reports of adverse reaction and death in animals treated with the products.

Entry filed under: General, Hartz danger, Hartz EPA, Hartz flea, Hartz kills, Hartz Mountain Corporation, Hartz Mountain Industries, Hartz poison, Hartz toxic, Scathing Indictments, Sergeant's, Sergeant's flea. Tags: , , .

NRDC’s Green Paws Campaign Bolsters Fight Against Hartz Hartz Treats Can Kill Your Dog, Too

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. RuthAnn  |  September 4, 2009 at 9:16 am

    Our little Yorkie, Patty, is very ill right now. The vet suspects the Hartz flea drops. I just do not understand how Hartz can get away with selling a product that is so awful!

    Reply
  • 2. Tammy  |  September 9, 2009 at 1:13 pm

    I totally understand what your going through, my dog Dixie just went through the same thing this past week. Same product also Hartz, it burnt he skin so badly, and of course I felt horrible thinking I did this to her. I have started the process of filing complaints with everyone that will listen. I hope Patty starts getting better soon, she’s in my prayers.

    Reply
  • 3. Tiny Timmy  |  January 23, 2010 at 7:45 am

    Hi there. I was looking for a way to contact you. I love your site, plus the use of humor in the face of this horror was much needed. I would like to re-post your Hartz Grinch piece on my facebook page if that is okay. I would like your permission and to give attribution for the work. It is brilliant.

    I am a spokeskitty against these toxic OTC flea and products. My name is Tiny Timmy and I have an active and growing fan base in several places including facebook and catbook.

    This is my story. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7-0UeE2uBPU

    Please contact me. I hope all is well.

    TT

    Reply
  • 4. Tatiana  |  July 12, 2010 at 4:38 am

    My dog Crystal is 13 weks old and she is a labrador retiever, I am so upset i wasted my money on this product, she has a red rash on her arm, I just hope and pray it gets better. But this is wrong. I feel so cheated and I pray all of your pets get better and I hope Hartz get sued and taken off the market.

    Reply
  • 5. Kara Bartee  |  August 30, 2010 at 11:16 am

    My Yorkie is very sick right now – vomiting – lethargic – bloody
    stools – totally not hisself and this started happening a few hours
    after a bath with Hartx Ultra Rid Flea & Tick Shampoo with citrus
    scent. He has never acted like this before and was not sick at
    all till after the bath. I had no idea these things were happening
    to pets – no idea!! A friend in my office knows someone whose
    cat died after getting shampooed with this stuff. I only wish I had
    known – now I have unknowingly poisened my sweet Yorkie
    Gizmo. Just pray he recovers – please.

    Reply
  • 6. wendy  |  January 22, 2011 at 8:46 pm

    i have a jack russel mix hes awsome only the fact he itches crazy ever since we bathed him with hartz ultragaurd rid flea and tick shampoo.hes flaked out and cant stop itching what can i wash him with to help him stop

    Reply
  • 7. Aimee  |  November 8, 2011 at 9:44 am

    We have 2 dogs and 1 cat, and they all came into contact with fleas. We bought hartz shampoo for dogs, and also the flea drops thinking we were helping our animals by treating their fleas. We did not realize that what we were actually doing was poisoning them and almost killing them. Immediatly after applying the flea drops to our one small dog and cat, the animals began acting strange. The cat began howling and panting, running around and hiding underneath blankets, and began twitching in the legs. The dog had similar symptoms but not nearly as servere as our poor cat. We immediatly washed all the animals with soap and water and rushed them all to the vet. As soon as we mentioned to the vet that we had used HARTZ products the vet took the animals and put them on IV’s to flush out the toxins from their system. After all the animals were kept for 24 hours and a vet bill for about $800, they were brought back home and back to normal within a few days. It was human neglegence on our part for NOT knowing that using dog products on cats could be deadly, but the fact that they sell this product on the shelves of most pet stores and even wal-marts makes me sick! This product poisons animals and is made of almost 85% PESTICIDES. Many people think their helping their poor pets and in reality may actually be killing them, the labels do not show enough warning about the severe side effects this product truly has on small animals.

    Reply
  • 8. Sandy  |  November 13, 2011 at 6:11 am

    I have been raising a kitten since it was about 2 or 3 weeks old….I bought Hartz replacement milk and began using it…..the kitten did well for about 2 or 3 weeks then began showing some very strange signs of illness…..one night after being without the milk for 2 days I finally had the cash to buy more and began feeding it again….that night it was throwing up and seemed to be in a coma-like state for about 5 hours,it could not blink its eyes or move a muscle it would just lie there and purr.After about 5 hours it seemed to snap out of it so I continued feeding it the formula.After awhile it began having strange symptoms once again just not as badly since I didnt feed it as much this time since I was trying to rule out diff things that could be causing this.This time my kitten was acting drunk,running into walls and barely able to keep its eyes open.I’ve done alot of research and come to the realization that this horrible product was the cause of my kittens illness and have swore off ever using this again.I am so lucky it didnt kill my baby!!! Please be careful.

    Reply
  • 9. Animal lover 4 life :P  |  January 4, 2012 at 1:17 pm

    Over the years have seen many Hartz reactions! Anything from seizure, muscle twitching and even death! In particular the ingredient Methoprene in cats is TOXIC! As a vet tech in Canada I find if very frustrating that these product are on the shelf. The government has asked veterinary staff to report adverse reactions but that’s about it!

    Reply
  • [...] [...]

    Reply
  • 11. George  |  December 24, 2012 at 2:54 pm

    Yes, Hartz Ultra Guard Plus Flea Drops Killed My Dog “Miss”

    I have used Hartz shampoo and flea drops in the past. Each time I noticed my dog, “Miss” had shivers, heavy breathing and was weak. I did not make the connection of these signs to Hartz. The last time I used Hartz flea drops, it killed her the next day.

    There is no warning on the label stating this product can cause death to your dog. I read the instruction throughly. I feel angry, stupid and guilty for using this product. I will never use Hartz again nor should you. It should be taken off the market. I am so sad and missing my “Miss”.

    Reply
  • 12. socks  |  July 18, 2013 at 7:18 pm

    I used Hartz shampoo and my dog started to get these bumps. I went to the vet and they told me it was from Hartz, and my dog had cysts and those were from Hartz.

    Reply
  • 13. Pastor Marc  |  October 24, 2013 at 9:37 pm

    I lost my dog Sept 1st. This is the first time I saw this article about Hartz Ultra Guard. I’ve used it monthly every summer season. When I woke that morning I went to check on Shadow, and she had passed in her sleep. I’ve also used it on our 4 cats for ages, but will never use it again. I have no way to find out if it was from the Hartz. I had her cremated, because I’m AOD from army 1966. All my pets from the past 40 years will be mixed with my ashes when I go. I only wish I had seen this earlier, if it is the cause. She never had a skin reaction but I don’t know what it might have done to her internally. I hope someone starts a class action suit against Hartz. If I could still walk I’d go to the company to find out just what’s what with them and demand some answers.
    Pastor Marc

    Reply
  • 14. Kandy Crowe  |  November 14, 2013 at 10:13 am

    I used to use the OTC flea and tick stuff because it was less expensive, but after my cats became ill and lethargic for 2 days, I knew that never again would I use “the cheap stuff.” My orange kitty would run when he heard me snap the container and then give me a dirty look after he ran outside. I figured it must have something in it that burned him, and he REMEMBERED! The stuff from the vet costs a fortune, but better that than a sick kitty and seeing the look in my orange kitty’s eyes, and reading the above horror stories. These OTC products are off my list forever.

    Reply
  • 15. Gina  |  May 22, 2014 at 7:56 am

    My sister’s little Yorkie just died…and she was wondering if it was because of applying Hartz flea meds. He died shortly after that! I think a CLASS ACTION SUIT NEEDS TO HAPPEN!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS Latest Stories from HartzVictims.org

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Exposé from the Center for Public Integrity

Tell the EPA to Take Action!

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Office of Pesticide Programs
Mail Code 7501P
1200 Pennsylvania Ave. NW
Washington, D.C. 20460

opp-web-comments@epa.gov

Call 703-305-7090 and ask to speak with Office Director Debbie Edwards, Deputy Office Director for Programs Steven Bradbury, or Deputy Office Director for Management Marty Monell.

Call 703-308-8121 for Debby Sisco or 703-305-4775 for Margie Fehrenbach (both are Assistants to the Office Director).

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

