Target: Stop Selling Pet Poison!

March 28, 2012 at 10:06 pm 6 comments

Target Kills PetsDear Target,

I like that you have plentiful parking. I like that you carry Swedish fish. I like the fact that you donate money to schools. What I don’t like is that you sell HARTZ flea and tick products, which are widely known to pose serious threats to people’s pets. I am certain that you know about this. I am positive that it has been brought to your attention. I know for a fact that victims have come to you with stories of how the product YOU sold them KILLED their beloved cat or dog. But the almighty dollar has clouded your vision and impaired your judgment.

Be as bold as your bullseye logo, Target. Tell Hartz to shove off. Stop peddling their poison to your customers. Stock safer, more effective flea and tick treatments, or just don’t sell flea and tick products at all. You’ve got blood on your hands, Target, and it’s not very cute.

Sincerely,

The Kill-Fleas-Not-Pets Squad

P.S. If you believe that Target is killing pets by selling Hartz’s poison to their loyal, trusting customers, please take a moment to contact Target and let them know what you think.

Entry filed under: Calls to Action!, flea and tick, General, Hartz, Hartz danger, Hartz EPA, Hartz flea, Hartz kills, Hartz Mountain Corporation, Hartz Mountain Industries, Hartz poison, Hartz toxic, Scathing Indictments, Toxic Brands. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Broken Hartz Launches Broken Hartz Vs. Hartz? No Contest!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. brokenhartz  |  March 29, 2012 at 3:16 pm

    Great post! Very well said.

    We’ve had our eye on Target for a while now. Among other things (including contacting Target directly), we will address it with our followers on Twitter.

    We thank you greatly for everything you do for this cause and for your support of us.

    Broken Hartz
    =^..^=

    Reply
  • 2. brokenhartz  |  June 14, 2012 at 5:50 pm

    Hello! We wanted to let you know we have not forgotten about this call to action. Rest assured, Target will not escape increased scrutiny for its continued distribution of Hartz Mountain Corporation’s wares.

    We stand proudly with you :)

    Reply
  • 3. Ed H.  |  June 15, 2012 at 10:14 am

    I lost my darling 7 year old toy Maltese and family member Cookie after she wore the collar for a few days. She was very healthy and had so much life still left in her. Join me in conversation on twitter with Target to get this product reviewed thoroughly if not banned. Use hashtag #hartzpoison to join the talk, thanks.

    Reply
  • 4. Marcia Hamilton  |  November 7, 2012 at 8:37 am

    My dog, Heaven, a 12-year-old mixed breed, lost her life to Hartz by having kidney failure. She had been licking and scratching herself, but I assumed it was a flea allergy, not the fact that I had used Hartz Flea Drops. She died a few days later, just this Nov. 5, 2012, and I am heartbroken and outraged at the same time that I did not know this about Hartz, a company that has been around since I was a child and I am now in my 60s. My dog, by the vet’s examination 3 months ago, was more like a 6-year-old than a 12-year-old. My dog suffered and I am now suffering her loss. My 9-year-old godson, a very kind and gentle boy and Heaven’s favorite “boy,” said, “I hope that Hartz company goes to crap.” And–I agree.

    Reply
  • 5. Leah Barnes  |  January 31, 2013 at 3:59 am

    I just lost my cat to Hartz. She survived a few weeks after the application, but I noticed a change in her just after I did apply it. She began losing weight. Finally in the last 2 days she refused to eat or drink. I’ve had this cat 5 years with no problems. The problems in her started the day I applied Harts Ultraguard flea drops!!

    Reply
    • 6. Marcia Hamilton  |  February 1, 2013 at 4:20 am

      I had used Hartz off and on for a couple of years. During that time frame, she would lick and scratch her body and she would lose hair. Because she had a flea allergy, I thought it was that.

      This past August i got the 3 month package from WalMart and started using it again. There were many cats roaming the area and Heaven picked up fleas again or so I thought. This time in early November (I had used the three packets by now) she started feeling REALLY sick. She hadn’t felt good for some weeks and I just suspected because she was almost 12 and was getting ‘achey’.

      On the 3rd of Nov. she vomited a couple of times, on Sunday she started feeling really bad and I called the vet but I couldn’t afford a Sunday emergency vet bill, I’m on a very small Social Security benefit. I called first thing Monday morning, she could barely walk, had been drinking and urinating like crazy and the vet found her kidneys had failed and she had to be put down. When I looked back over the times she had been ill, over the past couple of years,I realized it was whenever I had used Hartz, particularly the hair loss. It irritated her so much that she licked and chewed herself raw sometimes, so she was getting even more poison in her by getting that hair in her. She would have to have a cortisone injection at those times, also.

      I called Hartz, but of course they denied anything and I also called the FDA and they took all the information, but I doubt they will ever do anything. A wonderful pet who just, three months earlier had told me that based on Heqaven’s weight, musculature, teeth and overall wonderful appearance, she was more like a 6 year old than an almost 12 year old.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS Latest Stories from HartzVictims.org

  • How to Help Stop this from Happening to Others
    There is one  simple thing you can  do. It won’t  cost you any  money either. Speak up. Simply tell everyone you know about what happened  to your pet. Tell them  to check out this web site for proof. If you see someone in a store  looking at  flea products  talk to them. I know it’s […]
  • Not Sure About This Yet
    My 3 year old cat Queen Jack started showing symptoms of CKD (chronic kidney disorder) after 2 weeks of using Hartz Hairball Remedy Plus. We’ve yet to take her to a vet to find out if she really does have CKD and what we must do to save Queen Jack. Now I’m not sure if it’s the […]

Exposé from the Center for Public Integrity

Tell the EPA to Take Action!

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Office of Pesticide Programs
Mail Code 7501P
1200 Pennsylvania Ave. NW
Washington, D.C. 20460

opp-web-comments@epa.gov

Call 703-305-7090 and ask to speak with Office Director Debbie Edwards, Deputy Office Director for Programs Steven Bradbury, or Deputy Office Director for Management Marty Monell.

Call 703-308-8121 for Debby Sisco or 703-305-4775 for Margie Fehrenbach (both are Assistants to the Office Director).

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

